RoHS (Restriction of Hazardous Substances)

What does RoHS mean?
Restriction of Hazardous Substances

The EU-wide RoHS directive (directive 2011/65 / EU on the restriction of the use of certain hazardous substances in electrical and electronic devices) contains various chemical substances that must not be used in electrical electronic devices.

RoHS calls for the avoidance of six substances, heavy metals, brominated flame retardants and plasticizers. These substances used in electrical engineering are considered to be extremely dangerous to the environment, they are toxic and can only be broken down by the environment with difficulty.

For which substances do the RoHS restrictions apply?

In the history, six substances have been regulated:

  • Lead (Pb)
  • Cadmium (Cd)
  • Polybrominated biphenyls (PBB)
  • Polybrominated diphenyl ether (PBDE)
  • Mercury (mercury)
  • Hexavalent chromium (CrO3)

In 2015, Directive 2015/863 / EU (Annex II) was expanded to include four additional substances. These are now also limited in their use:

  • Butyl benzyl phthalate (BBP)
  • Di (2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP)
  • Dibutyl phthalate (DBP)
  • Diisobutyl phthalate (DIBP)

Since July 22, 2019, these RoHS guidelines also apply to the newly added category 11 (all other electronic devices that cannot be assigned to any other category).

Cables that are used for the transmission of electrical currents or electromagnetic fields are also “electrical and electronic devices”. Only cables with a nominal voltage of <250 V fall within this scope. Accordingly, the substance restrictions must be observed. External cables that are placed on the market separately and are not part of another electrical and electronic device must be classified as Category 11 and therefore meet the substance restrictions (including unfinished cables such as cable drums without a connector).

Here you find our RoHS certification, that documented that we comply with the currently valid RoHS guidelines. RoHS Download